Philosophy And Religious Studies Undergraduate Majors



Undergraduate Programs



In exceptional instances, students may, with the permission of the chair, make substitutions of courses within the department for required courses. Three units may, with the permission of the chair, be taken in an allied discipline.


Section A: Required Course (3 units)

PHIL 111 Logic (3)


Section B: Required Courses (9 units)

PHIL 221 Ancient Greek Philosophy (3)

PHIL 322 Hellenistic and Medieval Philosophy (3)

PHIL 324 Modern Philosophy (3)

PHIL 325 Schools of Contemporary Philosophy (3)


Section C: Required Courses (6 units)

PHIL 301 Philosophies of India (3) OR

PHIL 302 Philosophies of China and Japan (3)

PHIL 326 American Philosophy (3)

PHIL 327 African Philosophy (3)

RLST 357 Topics in Comparative Religion (3)


Section D: Required Courses (6 units)

PHIL 201 Social and Political Philosophy (3)

PHIL 319 Science, Technology and Values (3)

PHIL 332 Feminist Philosophy (3)

PHIL 341 Ethics (3)


Section E: Required Courses (3 units)

PHIL 311 Symbolic Logic (3)

PHIL 320 Philosophy of Science (3)

PHIL 321 Philosophy of Law (3)

PHIL 339 Theories of Knowledge (3)

PHIL 343 Aesthetics (3)

PHIL 353 Philosophy of Religion (3)

PHIL 380-389 Philosophical Topics (3)


Section F: Electives (6 units)

PHIL 413 Phenomenology (3)

PHIL 417 Existentialism (3)

PHIL 427 Kant (3)

PHIL 440-449 Philosophical Systems (3)

PHIL 460-469 Writing Seminar in Philosophical Studies (3)

PHIL 470-479 Philosophical Problems (3)

PHIL 495 Research Tutorial in Philosophy (3)

Section G:  Required Courses (3 units)

Any course in Philosophy not utilized to fulfill requirements in sections A-F.

Top of Page



Majors in Religious Studies must complete 36 units of course work, 12 from a set of Area Requirements.  Three courses (9 units) at the introductory level are designed to provide students with broad, working knowledge of Western and Asian religious traditions.  An advanced course at the 400 level (3 units) assumes knowledge and skills students will have acquired in their course work in Religious Studies.  It engages students in critical reflection on religious phenomena broadly conceived and represents the culmination of their experience as Religious Studies Majors.  Of the remaining 24 elective units, no fewer than 18 are to be selected from courses in Religious Studies; 6 units may be selected from related disciplines in consultation with students' academic advisers and with the approval of the department chair.

AREA 1 (Required Courses (6 units)

RLST 105  Introduction to the Study of Religion (3)

RLST 470  Seminar in Religious Studies (3)


AREA 2 (3 units)

RLST.202  Introduction to Christianity (3)

RLST.203  Introduction to Islam (3)

RLST.206  Judaism, Christianity, and Islam (3)

RLST.210  Introduction to Judaism (3)

AREA 3  (3 units)

RLST 207  Introduction to Buddhism (3)

RLST 208  Introduction to Hinduism (3)

RLST 209  Religious Traditions of Asia (3)

ELECTIVES  (24 units)

No fewer than 18 units are to be selected from RLST courses; 6 units may be selected from related disciplines in consultation with academic advisers and with the approval of the department chair.  No fewer than 18 units must be at the 300 or 400 level. 

Top of Page


Call for Papers: IASESP Conference

Philosophy Newsletter (PDF)


Upcoming CLA Events



University Police

Closings & News
410-704-NEWS (6397)

Text Alerts
Sign up now