USM Chancellor appoints search committee for next TU president

Search and hiring process estimated to take six months

TOWSON, Md. (Feb. 18 , 2011)—University System of Maryland Chancellor William Kirwan has announced the formation of a committee that will launch a search for a successor to Towson University President Dr. Robert Caret, who recently accepted a position with the University of Massachusetts.

“His departure is a huge loss for the System and the State,” says Chancellor Kirwan, in a letter to the TU community. “He leaves an exceptional institution poised to rise to even greater heights of excellence under a new president.”

The screening committee, comprising several local academic and business leaders, will follow the guidelines of the University System of Maryland (USM) Board of Regents to conduct a national and proactive search for Towson’s new president. A small group of finalists will then be recommended by the committee to the Board of Regents and Chancellor Kirwan, who will make a hiring determination from that list.

See the Chancellor's letter to the TU community for more information about the committee and its search guidelines.

Committee members include:

  • Louise Michaux Gonzales, Hylton & Gonzales Law Firm; Member, USM Board of Regents (Chair)
  • Tommy Appel-Schumacher, Graduate Student Association
  • Dr. Jennifer Ballengee, Department of English
  • Lou Dollenger, Nelson White Systems, Inc.
  • Dr. Diana Emanuel, Audiology Graduate Program
  • Angela Hong, Student Government Association
  • Catherine Horta-Hayden, Department of Dance
  • Katherine Kazinski, Staff Council
  • Dr. Jung-Sook Lee, Department of Mass Communication and Communication Studies
  • David Nevins, Nevins and Associates; Former member, USM Board of Regents
  • Molly Shock, Towson University Foundation Board
  • Lisa Smith, Undergraduate Admissions
  • Ellen Stokes, University Marketing
  • Timothy Sullivan, Department of Economics; Towson University Senate
  • Dr. David Vanko, The Jess and Mildred Fisher College of Science and Mathematics
  • Ocie Watson-Thompson, Department of Early Childhood Education
  • Dr. Donn Worgs, Department of Political Science
  • Gary Attman, FutureCare Health and Management Corporation; Member, USM Board of Regents (USM Board of Regents Liaison)
  • Katie Ryan, Senior Advisor to Chancellor Kirwan (USM Chancellor Liaison)
  • Cassy Bennett, Towson University Office of the President (Staff to the Committee)





University Police

Closings & News
410-704-NEWS (6397)

Text Alerts
Sign up now