TU students receive scholarships from MD/DC Anti-Car Theft Committee

Awards were presented at the 2011 Motor Trend International Auto Show in Baltimore

From left, Towson students Joe Freeman, Daniel Keenan, Ashleigh Coffelt, Brandon Leavens, Alex Fishman and Yuri Butler received scholarship awards.

TOWSON, Md. (Feb. 18 , 2011)—Six Towson University students were chosen as winners of this year’s Maryland State Police and Anti-Car Theft Committee Video/Radio Public Service Announcement Competition.

Each student was awarded a scholarship for their production of radio and television public service announcements focusing on auto theft prevention. The 2010-2011 Maryland State Police and Anti-Car Theft Committee presented a total of $6,000 in scholarship money to Towson students.

This year’s winners are:

  • Yuri Butler, of Howard County
  • Ashleigh Coffelt, of Howard County
  • Alexander Fishman, of Suffolk County
  • Joseph Freeman, of Montgomery County
  • Daniel Keenan, of Howard County
  • Brandon Leavens, of Frederick County

The students received the scholarships on Thursday, Feb. 11, at the opening day of the 2011 Motor Trend International Auto Show at the Baltimore City Convention Center. All students were given scholarships of $500, and it was announced at the award ceremony that Yuri Butler and Alex Fishman were selected as the grand prize winners in video and radio, respectively, and would each be awarded an additional $1,500.

Presenters of the awards included Maryland State Police Colonel Terrence Sheridan and Colonel Dean Palmere, Baltimore County Chief of Police James Johnson, and Joe Asplen, president of the MD/DC Anti-Car Theft Committee.





University Police

Closings & News
410-704-NEWS (6397)

Text Alerts
Sign up now